Flame of Hope Recipients

2019: Geoff Tracy (Chef & Restaurateur) & Norah O’Donnell (Co-host, CBS This Morning)
Advocate for children & families

2017: Lauren E. Lamb & Michael Smith Liss
Philanthropic Leader to the NICU Family Support Center

2016: McDonald’s Family Restaurants of Greater Washington, DC

2015: Laurie Strongin and Allen Goldberg
Hope for Henry Foundation

2014: Peter Brown and Victoria Sardi Brown
Founders of the Mattie Miracle Cancer Foundation

2013: David B. Nelson, MD. MSc.
MedStar Georgetown University Hospital


2011: Dr. Jennifer L. Howse
President, March of Dimes Foundation

2010: J. Stephen Latimer, MD
Former Chief, Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

2009: Suzanne and Bob Wright
Autism Speaks

2008: Mrs. Laura Bush
Former First Lady of the United States

2007: Barbara Harrison
Anchor, News4 Today and News4 Midday, Founder of Wednesday’s Child

2006: Paul Michael Glaser
Honorary Chairman, Board of the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation

2005: Philip L. Calcagno, MDOwen M. Rennert, MD
Former Chairs, Department of Pediatrics

2004: Tipper Gore
Advocate for families, women and children

2003: Eunice Kennedy Shriver
Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation and Special Olympics

2002: Darrell Green
Darrell Green Youth Life Foundation

2001: Leo J. O’Donovan, SJ
Former President, Georgetown University

2000: Paul Simon & Dr. Irwin Redlener
NY Children’s Health Fund

*2018 Flame of Hope Award not presented